First General Meeting 2016

The First General Meeting (FGM) of the University of Colombo Alumni Association of NSW Inc. was held on the 23rd October 2016 at Crestwood Community Centre, Baulkham Hills, NSW.
The meeting was attended  by around 60 guests who were past students and academics of the University.  The proceedings kicked off with an introduction by the first Public Officer Shyamali Senevirathna and a welcome speech by Dr Anil Amaratunga.  Association’s short term and long term goals and objectives were spelt out by Dr Kamali Kannangara with a clear emphasis on the importance of being a “one community – one goal” whereby all efforts are concentrated on a clear set of goals that are quantifiable, achievable and has a significant positive impact on the recipients.  It was followed by Mohan Kannangara presenting the constitution thanking all members of the constitution focus group who worked tirelessly in bringing the document to a finality.
After a short break, the meeting reconvened to appoint the new committee.  The new committee consists of five Executive Committee (ExCo) members and seven committee members.  The overall 2016-17 committee represents a diverse group of individuals from varied faculties of the University of Colombo (UoC) and with a wealth of exposure relating to academia, business, corporate governance, technology and medical and allied health.
Following the appointment of the new committee for 2016-17, the newly appointed President of the University of Colombo Alumni Association of NSW, Himali Siriniwasa outlined the vision for the immediate future and how the UoC NSW alumni community could come together to collectively make a difference in Uni Life for those who are desperately in need of help.
Following the presentations, there was focus on how best to recruit UoC members of the ACT to the association and to device a mechanism whereby ACT members get representation and recognition for their allegiance to the association.  There were questions relating to the constitution and the need for more time to read, understand and discuss the provisions in the constitution.  The committee agreed to reconvene a General Meeting to resolve both matters and further announcements will be made in due course.
The First General Meeting adjournment was followed by a “meet and greet” session and all guests were treated to a delicious and flavourful Sri Lankan finger foods, tea and coffee.
The Committee would like to take this opportunity to thank all participants and well wishers for their contributions, commitment and ongoing support.
2016/17 Committee:
President: Mrs Himali Siriniwasa
Vice President : Mr Vijitha Thalpavila
Secretary/Public Officer: Mrs Shyamalie Senevirathna
Treasurer: Dr Aruna Kodituwakku
Media Officer: Mr Sam Wimalasiri
Committee Members:
Dr Anil Amaratunga
Dr Kamali Kannangara
Mr Sajith Senanayake
Mrs Kumudini Dissanayake
Mr Anton Fernando
Mr Premachandra Ranasinghe
Mr Nissanka Dharmathilake

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s